Lapeer County EMS Authority

We are a community service for the citizens of Lapeer County. Created in 1997 by the merging of three local ambulance agencies, Lapeer Area Ambulance Service, North Branch Area Ambulance Service, and the Imlay City Department of Public Safety which have served the area as early as 1969. The service is now governed seven member Board of Directors with representatives appointed by the thirteen municipalities within Lapeer County.

Lapeer County EMS also offers Education Services for any community members, group or organization interested in CPR, First Aid or use of the Automated External Defibrillators (AED), as well as to those individuals wishing to make EMS a career. Many of our current employees have started or advanced their training with our Education Services.

Lapeer County EMS employees are trained at all levels of licensure and hold State of Michigan licenses at the Emergency Medical Technician-Basic, Emergency Medical Technician-Specialist, and Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic. We also have on staff 4 State of Michigan licensed Instructor Coordinators. All EMS personnel are CPR certified by the American Heart Association and are updated on a yearly basis. In addition, all Paramedics are certified in the American Heart Association’s Cardiac Life Support Provider (ACLS) course.