

Lapeer County EMS

3565 Genesee Road Lapeer, MI 48446 Phone: (810) 664-2927 Fax: (810) 664-3749 www.lcems.org



# REGULAR MEETING BOARD OF DIRECTORS MINUTES January 18, 2018 @ 9:00 AM

## **Roll Call Attendance:**

Lynn Hoffman Tom Youatt

Al Ochadleus Chris Tippen Tina Papineau

Julie Schlaud

## Absent:

Mavis Roy

## Municipality Representatives:

Bill Marshall: Lapeer Township Lisa Skovran: Arcadia Township Ann Derderian: Metamora Township Eldon Card: Oregon Township

### Lapeer County EMS:

Interim Executive Director: Russ Adams Carla McCormack: Administrative Manager/Recording Secretary Paul Axon: Road Supervisor

## Visitors:

None

# Additions to Agenda/Approval of Agenda

### <u>18-01</u>

Motion by T. Youatt, seconded by C. Tippen to approve the agenda as presented. No discussion from the board or public. Motion carried, 6-0.

# Approval of December 21, 2017 Regular Meeting Minutes

### <u>18-02</u>

Motion by J. Schlaud, seconded by C. Tippen, to approve the December 21, 2017 Regular Meeting Minutes as presented. No discussion from the board or public. Motion carried, 6-0.

# Approval of December 2017 Budget & Financial Reports

### <u>18-03</u>

Motion by L. Hoffman, seconded by J. Schlaud to approve the reports as presented. No discussion from the board or public. Motion carried, 6-0.

# Public Time:

None

# Agenda Action Items:

A. 2017 Budget Amendments: R. Adams referenced the board packet

### <u>18-04</u>

Motion by C. Tippen, seconded by T. Youatt, to approve the 2017 Budget Amendments as presented. No discussion from the board or public. Motion carried, 6-0.

24 Hour Emergency & Non-Emergency (810) 664-1499



Lapeer County EMS 3565 Genesee Road Lapeer, MI 48446 Phone: (810) 664-2927 Fax: (810) 664-3749 www.lcems.org



**B.** Election of Board of Director Officers (Current: Al Ochadleus – Chairman; Mavis Roy – Vice Chairman; Chris Tippen – Secretary/Treasurer)

### <u>18-05</u>

Motion by T. Papineau, seconded by J. Schlaud, to keep the same people and to have a unanimous ballot be cast. No discussion from the board or public. Roll Call Vote:

Mr. Youatt – yes	Mrs. Papineau – yes	Mr. Tippen – yes
Mr. Hoffman – yes	Mr. Ochadleus – yes	Mrs. Schlaud – yes
Motion carried, 6-0.		

### C. Set Up Committees

- a. Personnel Committee: (Papineau, Roy, Schlaud, Executive Director)
- **b.** Finance Committee: (Tippen, Youatt, Ochadleus, Executive Director)
- c. Negotiation Committee: (Hoffman, Ochadleus, Papineau, Executive Director)

### <u>18-06</u>

Motion by T. Youatt, seconded by J. Schlaud, to approve the committees as amended. No discussion from the board or public. Motion carried, 6-0.

**D.** Check Signers (Current: \*Schlaud, \*Tippen, Youatt, Ochadleus: \*denotes weekly signers) **18-07** 

Motion by T. Papineau, seconded by T. Youatt, to reappoint check signers as presented. Discussion ensued. Motion carried, 6-0.

E. 2018 Regular Board Meeting Schedule: (Current: Third Thursday of each month @ 9:00 am) 18-08

Motion by T. Youatt, seconded by T. Papineau, to hold the regular board meetings the third Thursday of each month at 9:00 am with the annual meeting scheduled at 10:00am in December 2018 directly following the regular board meeting and to post it on the website. No discussion from the board or public. Motion carried, 6-0.

### **Director's Report:**

- **A.** Activity Report: R. Adams referenced the reports in the board packet.
- B. Station Seven Update: R. Adams noted that Monday was the grand opening at station seven.

### Vehicle Maintenance Report: P. Axon referenced the handout.

P. Axon referenced quote handout(s) for ambulances. Board would like a report about vehicles so they can make a decision next month.

Discussion about Power Pro stretchers.

### Committee Reports

- **A. Personnel Committee**: C. Tippen, who is filling in for M. Roy, said that the personnel committee had narrowed the Executive Director applicants from 30+ to 7 during the first round of interviews. During the second round of interviews, the personnel committee narrowed the applicants to three. The final round of interviews in scheduled for next Tuesday. The board noted that they would like email copies of the final three applicants resumes.
- B. Finance Committee: None
- C. Negotiation Committee: None

### **Discussion:**

The board would like to thank Russ for coordinating the opening celebration at station seven.

### Public Comment: None

24 Hour Emergency & Non-Emergency (810) 664-1499







<u>Adjournment:</u> <u>18-09</u> Motion by T. Youatt, seconded by C. Tippen, to adjourn at 9:36 am.

Al Ochadleus, Chairman

Chris Tippen, Treasurer/Secretary

Carla McCormack, Recording Secretary/Office Manager

24 Hour Emergency & Non-Emergency (810) 664-1499